Brand and I

There’s a strange relationship between me and the brands. It may seems like I have that brand-oriented attitude many cosmopolitans have. But it’s not like that – I refuse to be included in that category. Let me clarify my definition of brand-oriented attitude; it’s an obsession toward buying/wearing only branded stuff (high-end brands that is) to be in the certain social status or to get certain recognition/image. It’s to gain prestige, sort of. Of course there are those who were born with silver spoon in their mouth and known only exclusive goods. I’m not in that category either. I’d proudly say I’m the vintage hunter bargain lover working class. But why am I attracted to buy branded goods and love looking at those unattainable stuff on glossy magazine?

For one I love art, I love the beauty of it. That includes the art of fashion, craftsmanship and advertising. Looking at glossy magazine satisfies that crave. The side-effect (not necessarily negative) is that I am exposed to the current trend and lifestyle. My eyes are trained, and so is my taste. Thus I have a growing urge to be part of that hype, to appreciate their design and hard work. That is by laying my hands on their work, and have it. This is the same reason why I insist on buying the CD even though I have the whole collection of MP3 downloaded from the internet. It’s about appreciation. 

The second one is about fascination. There are certain brands or designers whose collection really fascinate me. Their brand image somehow speaks to me (the price tag however is a different thing). It’s an honor to be in their circle. To be their Twitter follower is one thing, to have at least one of their work is another (yes, again, I see their product as a work of art). I can imagine how they made this very handbag from scratches on paper, to fabrication, to presentation on lookbook and campaign and finally made it to my hand. It’s about the notion that there is a great thinking and great inspiration involved in making these pair of shoes. This is why knock-off can’t substitute. 

The last one is where vanity involves. It’s about self-recognition. I need to prove to myself that I can afford to buy these, and I am nothing less than those Hermes bearing ladies. It’s not like I can’t be like them, it’s just that I don’t want to (ok in Hermes’s case, I can’t afford it either). It’s about keeping my head high around them. And to be confidence with my style. That is why for certain label, my obsession fades once I made my first and last purchase. Keeping in mind that it’s about recognition to oneself, not to public, so I’d always like to keep the label concealed, or as little as possible. 

Once all the obsession is satisfied, I seems to always go back to my old self. One that loves to roam from market to market just to find the right stuff, one that adores DIY, handmade and local product, one that’s always attracted to one digit priced stuff. One that I am. 

Img_0070

(in pic : @nyanianya personal collection)

Leave a Reply

